January Books Wrap-up

Time for a brief recap of the books I read last month. I read a total of 6 books and I must say I am quite happy with that. I am hoping I can sustain this even though I have to get back to my studies – can only ignore it for so long 😀

With the help of Goodreads, here they are neatly presented

Jan_2015

I have only written about 3 of them so far – the rest are sitting as drafts waiting for some coherence. Hopefully I’ll get them done by this week.

  1. Sybil, Flora Rheta Schreiber
  2. That Long Silence, Shashi Deshpande
  3. Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy, John Le Carre

Of the 6, I think my least favourite was That Long Silence. It was a major disappointment and I think what added to the disappointment was the fact that I started it with very high expectations based on the blurb. Every Goodreads review is going on and on about how it is about feminism,etc. but let me tell you – it has no such higher motives. It was just a rambling tale of quite a selfish woman.  Ok let me not get into that now ….

Top reads were probably The Catcher in the Rye followed by Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy and Sybil.

Based on Goodreads stats, it turns out that none of the 6 books were published post-2000. I mean it was obvious for some of them, but I had somehow assumed that Disgrace by Coetzee would be more recent but it was first published in 1999. The oldest is Home and The World by Tagore published in 1916.

Also, I took a call and gave up on Catch 22. The writing was quite enjoyable but it became a tad monotonous beyond a point and I don’t feel like going back to it at all. If you have read it fully, let me know what you thought of it. Is it worth giving it another go ?

How was your reading in January ? Link up your posts !

5 thoughts on “January Books Wrap-up

Comments make my day !

