Sorry Not Sorry – My Unpopular Opinions

This post has been inspired by the one at the Eleventh Stack – make sure you check it out !

So here goes ! And to quote the folks at Eleventh Stack “Grab a bushel of rotten tomatoes and get ready to pelt us, because we’re sorry-not-sorry about the following things”. At least they have safety in numbers πŸ˜€

1. I am not a fan of Harry Potter – there, I said it ! I read 2 books from the series and I decided it wasn’t for me. In fact, I am not a major fan of anything in the fantasy genre and haven’t been since childhood. I’d rather read a gruesome murder mystery over fantasy any day. The same applies to the whole Vampire – Werewolf sphere of fiction out there.

2. If someone around me over-hypes a book, I avoid it. A recommendation is welcome with open arms and even a nudge in the direction is ok but if they start going “OMG It is amazing ! What do you mean you haven’t read it ?” and repeat that a 1000 times, I will just skip the book. It irks me when people over-react and act as if life is not worth living if you haven’t read the book. Example of above is Alchemist by Paulo Coelho.

3. Although I haven’t read many romance novels, I like some of the romance/rom-com movies. Examples – Four Weddings and a Funeral, My Best Friend’s Wedding, PS I Love You and Jerry Maguire (for obvious reasons).
Recently I saw The Notebook and One Day on TV and I just do not understand how they became hits ! Even A Walk to Remember for that matter. I just believe that they are a case of hype over substance.

4. Continuing on the subject of movies, I am not a fan of Hitchcock. I figured out the major “twist” in Psycho and I hold that one of the worst movies I have ever seen in my life isΒ The Birds.

I don’t know if the following are “unexpected” opinions but anyway …..

1. I love watching food shows on TV – Top Chef, Masterchef, Hell’s Kitchen, Eat Street, Food Safari Β – I don’t even eat half the food they show on there but I like watching them anyway.

2. There are some movies I have seen a dozen times or more but I still watch them every single time they are on TV – The Godfather, The Dark Knight, Rush Hour, Inglorious Basterds, Shutter Island, The Departed, etc. etc. πŸ™‚

3. I collect notebooks of different shapes and sizes. Some of my favourites include a cloth-bound one with embroidery and one made with recycled elephant pooΒ  πŸ˜€

I guess that wraps it up.Β What do you think ? Are we still going to be on friendly terms ? πŸ˜‰

16 thoughts on “Sorry Not Sorry – My Unpopular Opinions

  1. I have to say that the first one is definitely a surprise (I ❀ Harry Potter!) but I think I'll be able to move on from it haha. I guess one of my more unpopular opinions is that I didn't really care for The Summer I Turned Pretty trilogy by Jenny Han, even though everyone else seemed to LOVE it. I thought the main character was really annoying, to be honest.
    Really cool post! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Since I agree with many of these (1 and 2 in particular!) I shan’t be throwing rotten tomatoes. Plus as a stationery addict, I get it about the notebooks….. πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. Yayy for the similarities ! πŸ™‚ I get the stationery thing from my mom – she hoards on colour pencils and paints like anything πŸ˜€ If you are ever in India, you should definitely visit Pondicherry – they make the most wonderful handmade paper and crafts there. We hoard on that too B-)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m with you regarding Harry Potter, I read the first three when I was 12ish, and then ‘outgrew’ them. I should hide from tomatoes. Whenever I say as such to friends at uni, I find myself with a few less friends. However, I’m not a big fan of fantasy either, and will take a murder mystery anyday.

    The Godfather, The Dark Knight, Rush Hour, Inglorious Basterds, Shutter Island, The Departed – I own every movie except The Dark Knight (which I don’t like) so I don’t have to wait for them to come on TV. The Departed is a particular favourite of mine! We obviously have similar tastes there – have you ever watched The Boondock Saints? It’s a cult classic these days, but full of dark humour.

    Like

    1. Yes, my friends who are Potter fans also tend to be very sensitive in this issue so I dropped any mention of it

      You don’t like The Dark Knight ? 😦 It happens to be one of my all-time favs – I even watched it once this week on TV. Departed is truly superb – I heard it was adapted from a Japanese movie.

      No I haven’t but I’ll put it on my wishlist and I have some movie buff friends – I’ll ask them to lend it to me

      3 cheers for similar tastes !! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Nice post πŸ™‚ I loved Harry Potter till volume 5. Volume 6 wasn’t as good, though there were a lot of revelations. Volume 7 was bad (in my opinion – hardcore Harry Potter fans disagree with me). I discovered ‘The Alchemist’ because the bookshop guy recommended it years back. I read it and loved it and then recommended it to so many friends. Now, I realize that they might have hated my recommendation πŸ™‚ I loved most of those romantic movies that you have mentioned. I have seen ‘P.S. I Loved You’ so many times. On movies based on Nicholas Sparks novels, my favourite is ‘Message in a Bottle’. I never thought that Kevin Costner could act in a romance movie and that was the first time I ever saw Robin Wright. Her character was such an angel in the movie – a total contrast to the dark role she plays in the TV series ‘House of Cards’ these days.

    Like

    1. Thank you πŸ™‚ I think I read 2 and 3 before giving it up.
      Hey your friends are probably better at receiving book recommendations and I’m sure they would have loved it – people in my circle tend to go overboard πŸ˜‰
      I haven’t seen that movie – I’ll keep a lookout for it. But Wright is quite awesome in House of Cards – takes talent to hold your own when Spacey is playing a powerhouse role

      Like

  5. Haha,that elephant poo thing made me smile! I think I might collect one one day! πŸ˜›
    And you have good taste in movies,I will say.I’ve watched all the movies aforementioned and yes,like you,I watch them whenever they are on TV!!! πŸ˜€

    Like

Comments make my day !

