The Books of 2014

I’ve only managed to read 20 books in 2014. It is kinda sad but I’m not going to get all mopey about it and ruin my New Year. Hopefully I can read more in 2015 and set it right 🙂

With help from Goodreads, here is an overview of my year in books….

goodreads

I’ve read a total of 7312 pages this year with the longest book being India After Gandhi at 893 pages.

Here they are – the humble 20 🙂

goodreads2

Yes ! Read them definitely !

Our Moon has Blood Clots , Rahul Pandita

The Rainmaker , John Grisham

A Death in the Family ,James Agee

The Sense of an Ending , Julian Barnes

To Kill a Mockingbird , Harper Lee

The Lives Of Others, Neel Mukherjee

Em and the Big Hoom, Jerry Pinto

India’s Struggle for Independence, Bipan Chandra

India After Gandhi , Ramachandra Guha

The Scarecrow, Michael Connelly

Darkness At Noon , Arthur Koestler

Hmmm….depends

The Dark Crusader , Alistair Maclean (if you are a fan)

Don’t Go Away, We’ll Be Right Back: The Oops And Downs Of Advertising , Indu Balachandran (if you are interested about the ad world and can take unlimited puns)

The Kaoboys of R&AW: Down Memory Lane, B.Raman (if the history of R&AW interests you)

The Unreal Elections , CS Krishna and Karthik Laxman (if you like satire and are in tune with the politics in India)

The Sceptical Patriot, Sidin Vadukut (if history + humour works for you)

The Inimitable Jeeves, P G Wodehouse (if you are a fan/ if you would like to give Wodehouse a try to see what it is all about)

From one bookworm to another – skip it !

Deja Dead , Kathy Reichs

Four corners of  night ,Craig Holden

The Kill List , Frederick Forsyth

What about 2015 ?

Do I go ahead and set a higher reading goal and see how it turns out ? Or do I just read and see how many I manage without a specific goal ? I haven’t been able to decide yet.

What do you guys think ? Help me decide !!

Also

HAPPY NEW YEAR everyone !! 🙂

Heres wishing that 2015 turns out to be a much better year than 2014 for all of you !!! ❤

11 thoughts on “The Books of 2014

  1. I say do like me!
    Don’t set a high number of books as your goal.Instead just target a number you know you will easily reach.
    Then the books you’ll read afterwards will be seen as bonuses. 🙂
    And also,you won’t feel much pressure to complete books over a particular time period….

    And To Kill a Mockingbird is just superb!! 🙂
    I wonder how good Lives of Others is! I might read it this year.
    As for Sense of an Ending,I read the beginning but didn’t finish it.I was reading only bits of the book very late at night and I felt I wasn’t reading it as it should.(I reckoned it was too good a book to be read like this).
    When I’ll go back,I’ll dedicate 30 minutes to reading it.

    Have a great New Year! 🙂

    Like

    1. Ha ha thats quite a good idea 🙂 maybe I’ll do it 😉 pressure really does get to be too much after a point !

      I liked Live of Others but if you want a counter opinion you should check out FictionFan’s review so that you can balance it out and decide whether its worth a try 🙂
      I know that feeling !! That the book somehow deserves better and should be savoured almost 😀 I’m reserving quite a few like that….
      And Sense of an Ending can actually be read in 30 minutes but after the last pages you’ll definitely spend some time re-reading it 🙂

      Happy New Year to you too !!! 🙂

      Like

  2. I would say just read what you want when you want. There are so many good books out there and it’s easy to become overwhelmed if you feel you should be at a different point, further on. Then reading becomes a chore and that must never be allowed to happen. Just enjoy. X

    Like

  3. You read some wonderful books in 2014! I see some of my favourites there – ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’, ‘The Sense of an Ending’, ‘The Dark Crusader’ (love MacLean!). I also loved Guha’s ‘India after Gandhi’. Hope you have a wonderful reading year in 2015!

    Like

Comments make my day !

