What do the books in my library say ?

The inspiration to write this post was derived from a take on this image by Bookmammal Musings. Do check out her post too !

Click to view original source

Click on image to view original source

READ 

If you go through my bookshelf, chances are very high that I have read every murder mystery or thriller title on there. I don’t let those drift away – always first priority !

Second set of books I would have definitely read in a hurry are my cartoon collections – Calvin and Hobbes and  R K Laxman

INTENDING TO READ

Many old classics that are in the house (Rebecca, Father Brown series, Autobiographies)

I have recently bought some new books like Em and the Big Hoom

HALF-READ

The Collected Works of O.Henry – although I love the author I have never got around to reading all his short stories (what a contradiction !)

PRETEND I’VE READ

Honestly, none. I don’t want to get caught lying – I’ve seen it happen to others and I don’t want to go there !

SAVING FOR WHEN I HAVE MORE TIME

Glimpses of World History by Jawaharlal Nehru – 1155 pages (!)

Back to Basics, a JC Kumarappa Reader (my post)

WILL NEVER READ

 Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman. I know its on several lists and that its quite scandalous for a self-proclaimed bookworm to say I won’t read it but at least give me marks for honesty here !

PURELY FOR SHOW

I don’t have any for show right now but I could get some of mother’s books and put them up 😉 Like The Lying Stones of Marrakech – take that for show !

READ BUT CAN’T REMEMBER A SINGLE THING !

Oh there are plenty for this – books by Erle Stanley Gardner, James Hadley Chase, Colin Forbes, Ken Follett…….. I know I have read them and that most of them have something to do with spies,etc but apart from that, nothing !

WISH I HADN’T READ

This year I’m wishing I didn’t read Four Corners of Night (my review).

 

That is my honest take on a lovely illustration ! Link your post in the comments or you can even leave your answers in the comments 🙂

7 thoughts on “What do the books in my library say ?

  1. Haha! Good fun! Hmm…I’m pretty ruthless about sending unwanted books off to the charity shop, so I think every book on my shelves is read (TBR books don’t get shelved till they’re read – but they’re also mainly Kindle books anyway). But the Kindle is full of unread impulse purchases that i’ll probably never read. For show, I’m gradually collecting the lovely Nonesuch edition of Dickens novels, but I’ve also read most of them…honest!!

    Like

      1. Oh I’d need to live in a castle in that case! (I suspect I may have been reading for several decades longer than you though… 😉 ) You’ll give in and get a Kindle one day – I’m devoted to mine…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I tried to read “Leaves of Grass” once (not the whole book from cover to cover, just a few poems), and it was . . . boring, mostly. I couldn’t make long or short of what Whitman was trying to say!

    I have, however, been wanting to try O. Henry again. I read “The Gift of the Magi” for school and “The Ransom of Red Chief” on my own time and I loved both, so maybe I’ll look his up some more of his stories. 🙂

    Like

Comments make my day !

