Mid-Year Status Check

As June winds up and with it takes away 6 months of 2014, I thought I should do a quick check on my reading progress of 2014. Here is what Goodreads has to say

Untitled

Untitled2

The “1 book behind schedule” is a bit unnerving to be honest especially since I was “2 books ahead of schedule” in May. If I have to put up a convincing defense, I could say that the reason for this lag is my decision to take on huge works of non-fiction that I mentioned in an earlier post.

Moving on to some number crunching….

Of the 11 books read, 4 are by Indian authors

Genres – 2 crime fiction, 2 classics, 2 non-fiction, 1 espionage thriller, 1 humour, 1 legal thriller and 1 political satire

Total number of pages read – 3582

Here is something I noticed in my “publication year” tab at Goodreads though

Untitled3

Notice that huge gap in blue dots between 1970-1990 ? So basically, all books I have read so far have either been pre-1970 or post-1995. Not that it is particularly worrisome or spectacularly unique but I did find it odd. What are the chances that 3 “old” books I arbitrarily chose to read this year all fall within 4 yearsย (1957-1961) of one another, given that I have plenty of classics in my TBR. Curiouser and curiouser ! ๐Ÿ™‚

ย How about you ? Are you having a better run at your reading goals ?ย 

4 thoughts on “Mid-Year Status Check

  1. Oo, that publication stat is interesting! Maybe I should keep one too, because I’ve no clue how the books I read would rank on that aspect. And 1 book behind isn’t that bad because there is still 6 months left to read as many books as you want. For me, I’m currently 10 books ahead which is crazy! However, I guess a lot of it has to do with the fact that I’ve read a ton in June ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    1. 10 books ahead ?! Now I’m jealous ! ๐Ÿ˜€ I hope to catch up but for me June has been the month where I’ve read the least. And yes, one of the perks of being on Goodreads is meddling around with the stats ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

Comments make my day !

