The A to Z Bookish Survey

This was a very interesting and fun survey I found over at Brown Paper and it was originally created over at the Perpetual Page Turner. Since I enjoyed their answers so much, I simply had to give it a try !

AtoZAuthor you’ve read the most books from:

According to the reliable Goodreads, its Agatha Christie !

Best Sequel Ever:

I don’t think I’ve read that many sequels actually. The only exception is perhaps Living Free and Forever Free by Joy Adamson. So I can’t really pick favourites when I have only read one.

Currently Reading:

Back to Basics, a JC Kumarappa Reader (I’ve decided not to start anything else in fiction till I finish this)

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Always coffee !

E-reader or Physical Book?

Physical book definitely ! I have to buy the book, sign it, read it and then proudly watch it sit on my bookshelf.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Is it ok to date the spies from a MacLean novel when you are in high school ? 😛

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

Chicken soup for the Indian Soul by Jack Canfield. I was initially apprehensive but it had some genuinely good stories.

Hidden Gem Book:

I would say all books containing the compiled collections of cartoons by R K Laxman are hidden gems. One more book I’m trying to get my hands on is the collection of cartoons by K. Shankar Pillai

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

When I decided to get out of the rut and start reading once again (hence the blog title)

Just Finished: 

The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read: 

Science fiction , erotica , self-help …….. sometimes I decide purely based on the blurb.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Probably L K Advani’s autobiography My Country,My Life

Major book hangover because of: 

Reading too many Agatha Christie titles as a teen – now I don’t want to read any of her novels even though my friends recommend some.

Number of Bookcases You Own: 

Officially 2 but I also encroach on others shelves 😐

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

Some of the titles of Five Find-Outers and Famous Five by Enid Blyton.

Preferred Place To Read:

The sofa in our living room ……. recently I’ve been reading a lot when I take the train across the city (unhealthy, I know)

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:  

The first time I ever felt that writing is beyond just racy plots is when I read The Pendulum by O.Henry in school …..

“…. the bottle of marmalade blushing at its certificate of chemical purity …..”

I’ve been an O.Henry fan ever since ! One of the more recent favourites from his writing is

“It is midnight on the steeple of the Cathedral of Notadam. It is also the same time at other given points in the vicinity”

Reading Regret: 

That throughout my teens my reading was slotted into one genre

That I haven’t read enough of Indian literature – original or translated

Series You Started And Need To Finish:

As a kid, I was all about finishing series (Enid Blyton, etc.) but now I’m not too interested in series. In fact I’m trying to avoid repeating authors this year and explore more.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

That is impossible to answer ! Not only because I can’t single out 3 but also because I attach a lot of emotional value to certain books so I can’t be 100% objective about them 😦

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Alistair MacLean ! I don’t take it very well when people criticize him …… (I know it sounds like a threat but its not 😀 just an observation !)

Very Excited For This Release:

An Undocumented Wonder – The Making of the Great Indian Election by S.Y.Quraishi

Worst Bookish Habit:

The fact that I keep buying new books without finishing the ones at home ! Its not wrong per se but the number of unread books gets overwhelming beyond a point.

X Marks The Spot (Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book):

C is for Corpse by Sue Grafton (how morbid is that ! 😀  )

Your latest book purchase:

To kill a mockingbird by Harper Lee

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

The Siege by Adrian Levy and Cathy Scott Clark

 

This completes my survey ! If you decide to do this survey, don’t forget to leave your post link in the comments below 🙂

3 thoughts on “The A to Z Bookish Survey

Comments make my day !

