The Liebster Blog Award !

My first blog award (hopefully the first of many! Yes, I am greedy) ! A big thank you to LilaJune at lilajune’s book saloon for the nomination 🙂

liebsterblogaward_zps086b9333

This award is a great way to get to know new blogs and more than anything else, its encouraging for bloggers like me who are just getting started and still learning the ropes.

Rules of the Leibster Blog Award 

  • List 11 facts about yourself.
  • Answer the 11 questions asked by whoever nominated you.
  • Ask 11 new questions to 9 bloggers with less than 200 followers. You cannot re-nominate the blog that nominated you.
  • Go to their blog and tell them that they have been nominated!

11 facts about me 

  1. I’m in my early twenties, finished college just recently and I am at the proverbial crossroads of life
  2. I’m the quintessential “argumentative Indian” 😉
  3. I’ve lived in India my whole life but I would love to travel to other countries (I have a bucket list ready)
  4. I’m a big-time dog lover and our dalmatian is the most important member of our family.
  5. I am crazy protective when it comes to books – I hardly ever lend them to anyone and I get mad if I see dog-ears on my precious books.
  6. I’m passionate about wildlife and conservation (I get it from my mother) and would any day prefer going to a wilderness area for an outing/vacation rather than to some man-made concrete jungle.
  7. By virtue of point 6, there was a time in my childhood when my dream was to be a zoo-keeper
  8. My knowledge of tech stuff is very poor and I have to constantly turn to my cousins for help
  9. I get unnecessarily animated whenever I talk about Indian politics or sports
  10. I’m also an unabashed vegetarian foodie. I can’t cook to save my life though !
  11. If I’m not reading/studying, I’m either listening to my favourite songs for possibly the 100th time or watching my favourite TV shows

My answers to LilaJune’s eclectic collection of questions 

1.Why did you start blogging?

This is a big year for me majorly because I’m making a lot of changes as to how I approach things (including my reading habit). So I want this year preserved in posterity. Whats the harm in trying, right ?

2. If you were going to recommend one book to everyone what would it be?

I don’t know if I can recommend such a book but for kids its definitely books by Enid Blyton. For adults, I would recommend the works of R K Narayan for their simple elegance.

3. Do you have a soundtrack for the books you read?

No actually. Apparently I’m not pushing my creative boundaries enough !

4. What are your guilty pleasure reads?

Pulp fiction works like James Hadley Chase

5. Did you grow up in a reading family or discover a love of reading on your own?

A reading family definitely! My parents are voracious readers and a lot of books I read as a kid were from their library or were based on their recommendations. Even my grandparents read quite a lot – check out this post.

6. What books have most influenced your life?

Enid Blyton’s novels built the foundation of my language skills. India’s struggle for independence by Bipin Chandra and Chicken Soup for the Indian Soul are the other noteworthy mentions.

7. What are your top 3 favorite books right now?

I’m currently loving A Death in the Family by James Agee. In recent times, I also loved The Rainmaker by John Grisham and The Siege by Adrian Levy

8. Do you have a story to tell? Have you already started writing it?

I did once have a story to tell but the dreaded writers block killed it !

9.What is your favorite classic ?

Books that made me emotional with their powerful writing were Jane Eyre and Uncle Tom’s Cabin

10. Are you a bit of a book geek or fangirl (boy) ?? Do you have a deep dark geek secret/story to share?

I am a book geek for sure. A deep dark story ? I have quite a few library books I haven’t returned just because I liked them a lot (don’t judge me people !)

11. It’s the Zombie apocolypse!!! AHHHHHHH!!!  Whats your survival plan?

First is to make sure my dog is on his leash because the spunky brat may just go and pick a fight with them. 😀 Then, I have to hope that Will Smith or Tom Cruise start saving the world from India for a change 😉

 My nominees

Now, here are my nominees – these are blogs that I not only enjoy reading, but they are also blogs that impress me with their creative expression of ideas. Happy blogging people !!

It’s my ink blog 

little onion writes

somehonestwriting 

Musings from a bookmammal

Any Excuse To Read 

I Love Books !

thebookgobbler

readingwrites

My questions for you ! 

  1. What made you start blogging ?
  2. One author whom you absolutely adore (to an extent where you’ll pick a fight with someone who criticizes that author)
  3. Is there any book which you picked up based on the blurb but then felt let down when you actually read it ?
  4. How did it all start ? Which is the one book that set you on the path to being a bookworm ?
  5. Your take on genres – should people be open to all types or be content with their favourites ?
  6. The top 3 books you would recommend to any bookworm willing to listen (like myself, for example)
  7. Your most favourite and least favourite book-to-movie adaptations
  8. Movies or TV shows that you will watch a 100 times
  9. Have you ever wanted to be a character from a book ?
  10. Its raining cats and dogs outside and you have run out of books. What would you do ?
  11. What are your guilty pleasures in books/tv/movies/even food ?

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Liebster Blog Award !

  1. Jane Eyre is an exellent pick for a a favorite classic (and by that I mean: it’s one of mine too!).
    You’ve got some really interesting authors/books in this post that I haven’t read…. I’ll have to go check them out!!!!

    Like

  2. Congratulations on your award! Loved your take of the tag. I think a lot of us grew up in India on a steady diet of Enid Blytons. I’m just so glad that my daughter seems to love them just as much!

    Thanks a lot for the award! I will take up the tag, but it might be a couple of weeks before I get down to doing it. Have a crazy schedule for the next two weeks 😦

    Like

    1. Thanks ! And totally agree with you about Enid Blyton – I don’t think there is any such thing as an Enid Blyton overdose! And its great that she has taken it up – my best wishes for her. I have a friend who keeps saying that when he has kids the first book he’ll make them read is Put’em Rights by Blyton.

      You’re welcome ! Happy blogging ! 🙂

      Like

  3. Hi thank you for the nomination. It was a lovely surprise. Sorry it has taken me a while to reply to it but I’m a bit of a technophobe: it has taken me ages to work everything out. Think I’ve managed to do it now though. Thanks again. 😄

    Like

    1. Hi ! Welcome and best wishes for your future blogging 🙂 And no need to apologize for the delay – as a fellow technophobe I can fully empathize. I think I was probably one of the last people to jump on-board the android revolution even 🙂

      Like

Comments make my day !

